

Steve Rumbelow Chairman

The Chairman of the Trust Board is a non-executive appointment, and is responsible for leading the Board, and ensuring that the Trust fulfils its legal and financial obligations.

Trust Board and Senior Leadership Team

Mersey and West Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust is run by a Board that consists of Executive and Non-Executive Directors. The Trust delivers healthcare services at Whiston, Southport, St Helens, Ormskirk and Newton hospitals, and some community and primary care services. The Board sets the strategic direction for the Trust, maintains high standards, quality and performance and ensures that robust systems of corporate governance are in place. The Board's most important priority is to ensure that the services delivered to patients are safe and effective.





Anne-Marie Stretch Deputy Chief Executive



Gareth Lawrence Chief Finance Officer



Sarah O'Brien Chief Nursing Officer



Nicola Bunce Director of Corporate Services



Dr Kate Clark Director of Strategy



Lesley Neary Chief Operating Officer



Malise Szpakowska Chief People Officer



Malcolm Gandy Director of Informatics



Gill Brown Non-Executive Director and Deputy Chair



Steve Connor Non-Executive Director



Claudette Elliott Non-Executive Director



Non-Executive Directors

Lisa Knight Non-Executive Director



Hazel Scott Non-Executive Director (university nominated)



Carole Spencer Non-Executive Director

Mersey and West Lancashire Teaching Hospitals

Rob Cooper Chief Executive

The Chief Executive is the Trust's accountable officer with overall responsibility for the performance of the organisation. The Chief Executive is supported by the Executive Directors and other senior managers to deliver the Trust's corporate objectives.



Dr Peter Williams Chief Medical Officer



Wayne Longshaw Director of Integration



Neil Fletcher Associate Non-Executive Director



Rani Thind Associate Non-Executive Director