Launch Recite Me assistive technology

We are sorry but our website is not supported on your browser.

Please switch to a supported browser to continue using You can see a list of supported browsers below.

Formerly: St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and Southport & Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust

Biggest ever annual awards ceremony honours MWL heroes

The Trust’s amazing staff were honoured at a glittering awards evening.

More than 1,300 guests, including staff, sponsors and well-known celebrities, attended the M&S Bank Arena to celebrate the achievements of staff from across MWL.

A total of 11 awards were handed out on the evening, which was the first as Mersey and West Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, as teams and individuals were honoured for their outstanding service to patients.

Chief Executive, Ann Marr, said: “I would like to say the biggest thank you to you all for your continued commitment to providing the highest standards of patient care. No matter what challenges come our way, you are never taken for granted.

“As a Trust we always strive for excellence and once again this year I have been highly impressed by all the heartfelt nominations we received from colleagues, patients and members of the public for the awards.

“Your resilience, compassion and sense of humour is remarkable. I am very proud of you all.’’

The evening began with the announcement of two Special Recognition Awards.

The first went to Southport Hospital’s Critical Care Unit who were celebrated after an outstanding year in which they’ve received national acclaim for their work.

Sylvia Sinclair, Deputy General Manager of Facilities at Whiston and St Helens hospitals then received special recognition for nearly 50 years of dedicated service to the Trust.

Sylvia Sinclair and Southport CCU photographs

Other winners were:

  • Excellence in Clinical Care: Ward 10B, General Surgery, Southport Hospital
  • Excellence in Quality Improvement: Frailty Urgent Community Response Team
  • Excellence in Patient Safety: Haematology Department
  • Excellence in Support Services: Payroll Department
  • Patient Experience Award: Burney Breast Unit
  • Employee of the Year: Sarah McKenna, Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Whiston Hospital; ED Department
  • Team of the year: Plastic Surgery Department, St Helens and Whiston hospitals
  • People’s Choice Award (Sponsored by the St Helens Star): Sanderson Suite, St Helens Hospital
  • People’s Choice Award (Sponsored by the Stand up for Southport): Joanne Unsworth, Bereavement Midwife, Ormskirk Hospital